Watch My Acting Roles Here ðŸŽ­

I love to be someone new for a day! Acting has helped improve my self confidence and I’ve got to work with some fantastic people. Learning lines has been an experience – I’ve been known to practice from a script whilst walking to work. (passerbys probably worry about me)

Find out about my acting experiences and even watch me act in the videos below:


Nightmare of the Clown  (2008)

1930548_64234925617_2833_n

When I thought about acting, I never would have guessed my first role would be running away from a psychotic killer clown, whilst in complete and utter darkness. With the added bonus of my leg getting partially sawn off, I began my short film breakthrough in style.

My role was ‘Rich,’ an urban explorer, who joined forces with a lady to break into a mysterious house where a legendary clown statue resided. The only trouble was we both sounded so upper class, so it seemed a little unbelievable we’d cause criminal damage to the property and we’d more likely be spending an evening perusing the local Waitrose and complaining about the work speed of their butler. We were even given a prop bottle of vodka to help us seem more mischievous and youthful.

Our characters stumbled across the clown, who magically reanimated to start a killing spree. Sadly, Susie, my fellow urban adventurer, met her gory end after attempting to hide. Badly.

Luckily, my character was a lot more agile and cunning, and managed to escape. Almost in one piece. Staggering into the kitchen, the killer clown grabbed my leg from the other side of a cat flap, and in the next sequence attempted to saw my leg off with a plastic dummy machete. I won’t reveal if I survived, but it was a surreal experience and I can reveal that my scared face acting has a lot to be desired. Unfortunately, I landed on my hand during my cat flap dive, and had a sore arm for a few weeks later. I should have ordered a stuntman!

I also had to help blow up 120 red balloons for one scene which involved my character escaping the clown’s clutches in a fun-filled bedroom of terror. I ran out of oxygen halfway through inflation.

Evil Eye (2008)

The next film I did with Robsters Entertainment, Evil Eye, was a lot more atmospheric with no dialogue. I had to use facial expressions and body language throughout. It was partly based on a true story (the director apparently had got bit during a kiss that went wrong.)
The tale followed my character meeting a very mysterious lady in the park. Sadly for me, she wanted to lure me to my death. Which is an improvement over my usual romantic life.

Prior to filming, I had a haircut that went wrong.  ‘Take it all off,’ I bizarrely declared at my local hairdressers, at the bizarrely titled barbers of Sweeney Hoggs. The place was run by the most depressing hairdresser in history, where I often felt like I needed therapy after getting the usual short back and sides. After my innocent request, he promptly shaved off all my hair and I resembled an egg.

Fearing ridicule, I wore a top hat for the film to hide my white dome. My hair however had other ideas and began to grow in between the filming weeks. The director had bought a bald cap to hide my growing follicles, but sadly the cap was a lot more yellow than expected. We tried to make it more skin toned by sprinkling talcum powder on top of said bald cap. It wasn’t quite right. We spent about an hour rolling on the floor laughing about our creation before we could even start the next scene.

The first actress wasn’t entirely what the director had in mind. With pizza stains on her shirt and to many demands for cigarettes, we could see she wasn’t the perfect fit for a femme fatale character. Luckily, another actress stepped up and took on the role of the deadly lady.

The film was quite fun to make, I got stabbed through the heart and took part in a fake kissing scene. Instead of awkward lipage, we ended up linking hands in front of our faces, which when using a clever camera angle, kinda looked convincing! For the ending I had to make myself cry, and I pictured upsetting thoughts to get my tear ducts flowing. There was an idea to bring some sliced onions with us but luckily I managed to get in touch with my emotional side for this big finale!

Revelations 13:18 (2009)

This film’s plot was even more colourful. I played Stanley, who was genuinely haunted by the number 13. His first 12 films he directed were fine, but things went awry during the production of the 13th. So much so, he evoked the power of the devil. His friend died, the production went to chaos and he began to have sinister nightmares of said deceased friend.

All in all, it wasn’t a great experience for him, and his dreams were so frightening that he began to seek assurance from his local priest, Father Michaels.
Some churchgoers genuinely thought the actor was a vicar and asked him what time the sermon started.

20030703_10158844388620618_1870286285_n.png

Particular dramatics happened which involved my character barging in mid-prayer to tell Father Michaels to read the bible!
We also got to work with a German actress who starred in the long running soap ‘Verbotene Liebe.’  She braved very sinister makeup to scare the bejeezus out of viewers. To this day, the above scene still freaks me out!

She went behind a curtain in the church to apply her ghost makeup when suddenly an innocent cleaner appeared and was rummaging around. The director and myself were in suspense as this cleaner had no idea what was behind the curtain, and we were too tense to say anything in case we got told off for filming in the church.  Luckily, the cleaner didn’t check behind the curtain or she would have had a massive fright indeed!

Richard Steel (2009)

This is where the fun truly began. I played both the roles of Rufus Spout (the geek I was born to play) and Richard Steel (the cool guy he wishes to be.)
Annoyed with someone else always taking the girl, Rufus changed his name to Richard Steel, and became the coolest man on the planet and super tennis champion. Sadly, I could barely hit a tennis ball back, so the director had to use his editing skills to manufacture me into Roger Federer.

We completed 14 takes of the infamous Tennis court chase scene at the start. It was a laugh riot throughout filming, and Rufus quickly become a breakout star. Dorky, nerdy and all sorts of awkward, he quickly became a fan favourite and a sequel was quickly in the works.

Bournemouth Blackout (2010)

This film was based on the Bournemouth Blackout of 2005 – a power cut that never seemed to end, whilst the town plunged into chaos due to the lack of illuminations. I played another haunted individual whose girlfriend only comes out when the lights are off. Best I don’t pay the electric bill in future.

I’m not sure 100% what the plot was about but it was quite a funny film to make. Plus, I got to roll around in a shopping trolley, play Ring of Fire with a ghost and get therapy from an English guy doing a bad Jamaican accent. The actress and myself had to create a fake relationship, so the director did a photoshoot – it was incredibly surreal to have romantic photos taken with someone I’d never met before and pretend to be in love with.

Mystical Coast (2010)

We made this during the 2010 World Cup season.  We ventured to Studland Bay (no nudists in sight) to film a castaway mystery story near the Purbecks. I played Captain Lucas Davenport, who meets a very angry island inhabitant with a sinister secret of his own.

By luck would have it, a victorian looking galleon appeared in the background of the sea shot which we quickly edited in. I’m still convinced it was a ghost ship.

Besides being mobbed by sand flies, and almost strangling Kristian (the other actor) for real, the film was good fun to make and really convinced people it was set hundreds of years ago on a deserted island. The film involved us carrying a mysterious wooden chest across the shore, and passers  presumed we’d actually found some buried treasure under the sand.

Richard Steel 2 (2011)

Rufus returns to wreck revenge on Richard Steel.
Filmed in Bournemouth across two years, the development of this one was quite complex. We filmed in our old university in a room that mirrored a doctor’s office, and created two very nightmarish dreams to reflect the dark side of Rufus coming back.

The new love interest was played by Lucy, who went on to be an extra in Eastenders. I’m still waiting to get Phil Mitchell’s autograph.

This movie quickly become the most scary of the trilogy and had the most shocking ending of any of my films to date, spelling almost the end of the Rufus character. Look both ways before crossing the road everyone.

Richard Steel 3 (2012)

Despite the ending of part 2, we felt Rufus deserved a great sendoff, and the concluding part of the trilogy I would say is the very best film I’ve starred in. Bringing the trilogy full circle, it packs in more emotion and gusto that any film I’ve been part of.
Kicking off with an erratic run whilst getting dressed on the way to school (channelling my inner Mr Bean), Rufus fought his alter ego, stepped inside his own mind, blew up a garage, smashed the periodic table, became a millionnaire and got married. All in twenty minutes.

It was also my first film shoot to be shot high definition! Look out for a new character I played, the formidable Mother Spout which was a cross between Mrs Doubtfire and your Mum.

Completing the journey of the two characters in a satisfying conclusion, it’s been my most favourite acting performance to date.

Haunted (2013)

Filmed in Ipswich, we had access to a house so we sped-made a ghost story. Made in less than a day, this chilling tale involved my character moving into a house that was haunted.

Tempers rose during a late 3am shoot in the kitchen, and we were quite relieved to get it in the can, with the other actor demanding last minute script changes to his dialogue. It’s by no means an imperfect film, so do check it out. Not just to see me almost drown in my own bath, but you’ll also get to witness me having a conversation with a very overdramatic ghost.

Get Out More (2016)

This one I wrote, co-filmed, directed, edited and acted in! Based on the combination of agoraphobia and technology addiction, this almost silent film was a test for me and my partner to create. A timing puzzle, a lot of the action was filmed twice to create a passing day effect.

Left on the cutting room floor, I finally pieced together the movie the following year. A lot of people can relate to what happens on screen after the pandemic.

The World Without Men (2018)

Time for something completely different. I had to audition for this role against 6 other potential guys, and I was surprised to get it! This little movie was part of a Masters Media Production course, and I got involved whilst working at the university to help out students.

Part of a relationship, my character promptly leaves early in the film to be replaced by a dominant woman. Again it was quite entertaining being part of a faux romance. A bed scene got scrapped from the final cut. Simply kissing someone goodnight whilst being filmed by a crane camera and 7 other men in the room was quite an experience.

Strange Woods (2018)

Check out the behind the scenes gossip in the video above, with my return to the Robsters films after a five year hiatus. Set in the 1990s, I adopted a classic boyband fringe and faced spooky goings on in a mysterious forest.

Pandora (2019)

My most recent, but hopefully not last acting performance was in a short film I scripted called Pandora. Mostly me being filmed alongside an inanimate object, this was a Black Mirror-esque experience of technology going horribly wrong.

Filmed in my own home in just 8 hours, it was one of the more simpler productions but still entertaining nonetheless to create.

Please subscribe to my Youtube for more adventures.


Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑